Simply Sublime Brahms

Last night, Hubby and I went to the Seattle Chamber Music Festival Winter Interlude concert at Benaroya Hall. On the program were Dvorak Slavonic Dances for piano four hands, played delightfully by Orion Weiss and Anna Polonsky (who are married in real life). The second half of the program was as described above, Simply Sublime Brahms, the String Sextet in G Major, Op. 36. The players were Amy Schwartz Moretti and Arnaud Sussman, violins; Roberto Diaz and Richard O’Neill, violas; and Robert DeMaine and Andres Diaz, cellos. The audience was just transported by the soaring, uplifting music. This has always been one of my very favorite pieces, and I bought the music so I could try it myself at home. This performance was one of the best I’ve ever heard. Unfortunately, I don’t have video of this performance, but I searched YouTube, and came up with this one, which is very nice.
Listen here to the first movement. Sublime?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s